Board Of Directors


Vice President (President elect)
Past President



  • Memberships
  • Communications
  • Education
  • Certification
  • Partnerships

Zone Directors

  • Ottawa/ Eastern Ontario
  • Southwest Ontario 
  • Greater Toronto Area
  • Northern Ontario

Roles and Responsibilities

Executive Board

President – two year term

  • elected by the Board
  • responsible for the welfare of CPTED Ontario
  • signing officer
  • chairs Board Meetings and AGM

Vice -President – two year term

  • President elect
  • elected by the Board
  • Responsible for the President’s responsibilities in his/hers absence

Past President – two year term

  • guides and assists the President

Treasurer – two year term

  • elected by the Board
  • signing officer
  •  responsible for the CPTED Ontario finances 
  • banking
  • payments
  • tax returns
  • financial summaries

Secretary – two year term

  • elected by the Board
  • responsible for the Board Meetings
  • scheduling and location
  • agenda and minutes
  • responsible for the AGM
  • responsible for updating the By-laws


Memberships – responsible for the Memberships registrations

  •  send out renewal letters
  • send Receipts
  • update membership lists
  • welcoming letters to new members 

Communications – responsible for CPTED Ontario website

  • responsible for social media – notifications and news
  • CPTED Ontario newsletter
  • Media releases
  • advertising

Education – scholarships

  • liaison with schools
  • CPTED awareness program in schools
  • Certification  
    responsible for the certification process
  • Partnerships
    promoting, aligning and partnering with the various professional, security and police organizations/associations

Zone Directors

  • to promote CPTED in the this sector of the province
  • to encourage and grow the CPTED Ontario membership in this sector of the province
  • to hold an annual zone meeting for our membership in this sector of the province


Tom McKay, B. Comm
President BIO

Wayne Nishihama, OALA, CSLA
Treasurer, BIO
29 Maydolph Rd.
Toronto, Ontario
Ph: 647-529-2502

Cyndy A. Skillins
cocpa Co-Chair
14845-6 Yonge St., Hunters Gate, Unit 103
Aurora, Ontario
L4G 6H8
cell: 416- 520-1799 also


Sgt. Avery Bassett BIO
Ontario Provincial Police
777 Memorial Ave.
Orillia, Ontario
L3V 7V3
Ph:  705-329-6272
Cell:  705-238-2181

J.P. Chartrand 
3903 Drouin Rd
Hammond, Ontario
K0A 2A0
Ph:  613-487-2966

Danette Dalton, BES, MCIP, RPP
Urban Planner

Steve Montpetit
(Ret. Sgt. – Ontario Provincial Police)

386 Heritage Dr.,
Kitchener, Ontario
N2B 3M9
Phone 519-743-5514
Cell 519-497-8473

Dragan Spasojevic, B.A. Hons. MPPAL
Manager, Community Relations and Crime Prevention
York University
4700 Keele St. 227 William Small Centre
Toronto, Ontario  M3J 1P3
Ph:  416-736-5931
Cell:  416-892-5622

Cst. Marten Wind
Durham Regional Police
605 Rossland Rd. E., Box 911
Whitby, Ontario  L1N 0B8
Ph:  1-888-579-1520/905-579-1520, ext. 1933


Past Directors

Cst. Laurel Barnett, Halton Regional Police
Martin Bass, CFE, CPP, CRM, Risk Management / Business Continuity Advisor, The Co-operators
Cst. Gregg Davidson, Halton Regional Police Service
Cst. Dave Dawson, Niagara Regional Police
Mike Fenton, Paragon Security
Terrence Glover, CPT, MCIP, RPP, City of Brantford Planning
John Gwozdowski, B. Arch., OAA, MRAIC Principal, STILE ARCHITECT
Cst. Caroline Kennedy, Ontario Provincial Police
Sgt. Ted Kitto, Owen Sound Police
Sgt. Mark Lawrence, York Regional Police
Cst. Jim Lawson, Toronto Police Service
Monica Lees, York Regional Police
Det. Sgt. Donnie MacDonald, Ontario Provincial Police
Ruth Marland, City of Mississauga
Anne McIlroy, Principal, Brook, McIlroy Architects
Robert Metail, Architectural Security Consultant, Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Inspector John Periversoff,, Ontario Provincial Police
Shane Rechner, Sears Canada
Sgt. Bill van Ryswyk, Second Vice Chair, Ottawa Police Service
Gurmeet Singh, Toronto Community Housing
Demetrios Skillaris, Ministry of the Solicitor General, Province of Ontario<
Cst. Janet Small, Ontario Provincial Police
Sgt. David J. Thomas, Ontario Provincial Police
Cst. Melody Tourigny, Ontario Provincial Police
Cst. Art Wong, Ottawa Police Service
Terry Wright, First Vice-Chair, York University Security Service
James Yuhasz, Manager, Campus Police Service, Wilfrid Laurier University